An Unabashed Love Proclamation

One of my absolute favourite smells in the world is butter. Of all the foods that are being cooked, those that contain butter have this irresistible decadent scent to it that reminds me of my mother’s warm embrace yet leaves me salivating. It’s as if this scent travels straight from my nose right to the bottom of my stomach and zaps straight to my brain, who in turn purrs, “Hello, lover” as my tummy does a little excited jig in anticipation being fed such luscious goodness.

(You’re probably thinking right about now, WOW, she sure loves her butter! What a freak!)

My favourite butter smell-taste memory is when my friend Charlene served a group of us a Galette des Rois. I had almost passed out from the overwhelming scent of butter as the galette was baking (I had asked her, “What butter are you using?! That smell is amazing!”) and after I took a bite, I think I had an out-of-body experience as that rich buttery taste oozed into my mouth and melted on my tongue as I tried to savour every bite whilst greedily stuffing my face so I could get a second-helping before anyone else. Turns out the magical butter Charlene had used was imported French butter. The French sure know how to make their women happy. I’ve since taken to buying French butter when I can afford to (on the waistline, not on the pocket) and it still brings me to a state of euphoric bliss each time I use it.

So when I decided to try my hand at this dish, it hadn’t occurred to me that I’d be sent into butter-induced heaven. I wasn’t even expecting it because its a savoury dish and it seemed so unsuspecting. But from the first mouthful, my eyes widened in surprise and my stomach applauded in amorous joy and my brain was an incoherent jumble of hiuasgdilymmmmmmm.

Pork chops

Pork Chops with Apple and Sage

Pork Chops with Apple & Sage
Adapted from Real Living Food Summer Cookbook
(Serves 2)

Ingredients
4 average sized potatoes (I don’t particularly care what type, I always buy the cleaned ones so it’s less work)
25 g butter (and more according to “feel”)
1/4 cup milk
2 pork chops
2 1/2 tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 bunch fresh sage, leaves plucked and chopped finely
1 apple, cored and thickly sliced
1/2 cup chicken stock (I used my homemade version)

1. Place potatoes in a pot and cover with cold water and bring to a boil. Simmer until tender. Drain and mash with first quantity of butter and milk. I ended up adding more butter because I think it’s a matter of preference to taste and I like it to be buttery. Season to taste.

2. Season pork chops with salt and pepper. Melt second quantity of butter in a frying pan over medium heat. Add sage leaves and fry until crisp. Remove pan from heat and remove sage leaves from pan with a slotted spoon.

3. Return pan to medium-high heat, add pork chops and fry each side till browned and cooked, about 4 minutes per side. Remove from pan to a warmed plate and cover with foil.

4. Add apple slices to pan and fry gently until browned on both sides. Add chicken stock and bring to a boil until sauce is slightly thickened. Season to taste (my chicken stock had no salt in it previously).

5. Divide mash potatoes onto plates, arrange pork chops, apples and sage leaves on top. Drizzle with sauce (I recommend straining the sauce because there’s likely bits of sage leaves and other impurities floating in it).

Pork chops

Party in the mouth!

Basically, every component of this dish was cooked in butter or had some sort of butter component to it. The amazing thing was that my entire apartment smelled like butter for hours after I made this, and by that, I mean that my apartment smelled exactly like what I imagine heaven to smell like.

Mock me if you must but this dish was so good that Jacey, who isn’t a fan of pork, agreed that it was absolutely, lip-smackingly delicious. The by-product, that lingering scent of sin butter, was just pure incentive to make this dish again and again and again…

4 Comments on “An Unabashed Love Proclamation”

  1. kristine says:

    looks absolutely delicious! after easter this is going to be one of the 1st things on my list! mmmm pork… and mmmm butter…

  2. michelletlh says:

    omg too delicious. doesnt help that im hungry. also sounds FAT!! hahahaha :D