Bale-ful Oblivion

Chocolate Truffle Oblivion Torte

Chocolate Truffle Oblivion Torte

People always ask me if I prefer making sweet or savoury food. I’m not entirely sure. I enjoy eating savoury food a lot more but I feel like I’m a very average cook. I can’t cook meat perfectly, I always end up crossing the fine line when cooking vegetables perfectly to slightly-overcooked, and my knife skills are pretty pathetic. I’m a lot more adept in the sweeter side of things, or rather, I feel like I get praised more often for my sweets. Or maybe it’s because all my friends are such sugar fiends and most of them go through the dessert section of every menu before they look at the appetisers and mains. I feel like I do a better job in making desserts look pretty, too. It’s a lot more forgiving and I’m patient with it like piping and fondant decorations.

Now I don’t know which I enjoy more because maybe I’m enjoying the sweet side of things because of the reception it receives rather than true passion for it. It’s an interesting thing to think about, considering what I want to pursue after this year. Can’t I do both, anyway? Do I have to pick?! I hear it’s a personality thing, too but I’m not sure what personality traits determine which side of the kitchen you belong in so that’s pointless information in my head.

Chocolate Oblivion Truffle Torte

My good friend Kristine invited me over to her house for dinner on Friday night. It was the bright spark in my otherwise mundane week. We had been discussing it for a few weeks now and I’d been begging her for some of her lamb curry for a good, long while because Kristine makes the most mouth-wateringly delicious lamb curry ever. In fact, I’m rapidly salivating now at the thought of that delicious pot of curry she served up. Nghhhhhh.

Lamb Curry

Lamb Curry

Jealous yet?

Wait for it…

The spread

The incredible spread

Let me express what this means: hrnggggghhhh.

Tandoori Chicken

Su’s delicious Tandoori Chicken

I reiterate: HRNNNGHHHHH.

Kristine and Su fed us so ridiculously well. So well that I got home past midnight and was still burping. And disgustingly enjoying the smell of curry permeating through the air. What?! It was a delicious meal! It’s fair to enjoy your body loving it, too. Don’t let your mind wander too far. Have you? Okay, drop that thought.

Moving on.

I made this:

Chocolate Truffle Oblivion Torte with Raspberry Sauce and whipped cream

Chocolate Truffle Oblivion Torte with Raspberry Sauce and whipped cream

Confession: I’m not a fan of chocolate. Am I hearing expletives and gasps of shock? I know it’s strange but I’m truly not the kind of girl who swoons at the sight of a chocolate cake. I will more likely do a one-shouldered shrug and pick the lemon curd tart sitting beside it. Mmm citrus!

But this cake? This beautiful, majestic cake with the raspberry sauce and whipped double cream? It’s pretty much like doing the nasty with your best friend’s husband if he happened to look like Christian Bale in a fireman uniform, and the entire time he’s yelling at you about how unprofessional you are and all you can think is, “I’ve gone to heaven and God is gifting me with sinful angry sex with this gorgeous (fire)man.”

Basically sin and heaven rolled into one.

Are you still a little distracted by that image I just planted in your head? Let’s not talk about it. We could because I think that Christian Bale is the hottest thing since the sun and I have a little thing (okay, fine, BIG thing) for firemen and that Bale rant that everyone thinks makes him an instant asshole? A total turn on for me. Ahem. Yeah, we really should’ve moved on.

The cake is called the Chocolate Oblivion Truffle Torte and it’s by Rose Levy Beranbaum, off her amazing book The Cake Bible. While the cake is a winner, for me, it’s nothing without the raspberry sauce. It’s just like how Christian Bale is hot, but he’d be 10x hotter if he put on that fireman uniform. And the whipped double cream is how good it would be is while Christian Bale looks like that, he started yelling at you in his sexy angry way. Yeah…

The raspberry sauce was a pain in the butt to make but because it was so delicious, I’d happily go through the torture of sieving raspberry puree away from its seeds. It was sweet and tart and tangy (it had a hint of lemon juice) and it went amazingly with the torte. I decided if I was going to have a dessert so decadently called a Chocolate Oblivion Truffle Torte (which consists of dark chocolate, butter and eggs only), then I’d go all in with whipped double cream.

To be perfectly honest, I was a little absent-minded when I whipped this cake up and I would like to blame that on my general lack of sleep these days. My first mistake was I forgot to put in any sugar and I had used a combination of 75% cocoa dark chocolate with some 60% cocoa chocolate. It was intense (although I have to say I only eat dark chocolate). Then I forgot to smooth the cake over before popping it into the oven so it had the ugliest crater-like surface. Thankfully my brain kicked in when I was decorating the torte to bring over to Kristine’s so made sure it was bottom-side up so that was smooth and I dusted it with icing sugar to bring in some sweetness, and it made it look so pretty too!

Swoon.

Want to know something else I did? It’s a little surprise for when people actually ate the torte. I sprinkled Maldon sea salt over the top. That little burst of salt with the rich chocolate and sweet-tangy-tart sauce and that mildly flavoured whipped cream?

Nrrrrhhhhghhhh…

4 Comments on “Bale-ful Oblivion”

  1. Kristine says:

    omg that cake made my night. so gorgeous!

  2. HAHA, you’re hilarious, I got so confused, but it sounded like you were literally dieing from good food ;p (And good fantasies, swoon, Christian Bale, indeed) I’m the same way, I like both sweet and savoury, but it would be awesome if I could deal with meat and veggies better to sustain my life. There’s only so much that sugar can do for you when you want to live a long life. And your tort looks great ;]

    • heysugar says:

      LOL glad you found the humour in there! I know it’s a little confusing but I’m basically likening the fact that the cake is like fornicating with your best friend’s very very hot husband who happens to look like Bale lol :P