All That Ragu

This is the ragu I made for dinner the other day. It’s quick and easy, and is definitely going on my reportoire of weeknight dinners.

Cannellini and Chickpea Ragu

Cannellini and Chickpea Ragu

Cannellini and Chickpea Ragu
Adapted from August 2008 Delicious magazine
Serves 4

2 Tbsp olive oil
1 onion, finely chopped
4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
2 tsp fresh thyme leaves (save extra for garnish)
1 sprig of rosemary
1 carrot, diced
2 celery stalks, diced
400g can of chopped tomatoes
1 can of chickpeas
1 can of cannelloni beans (or two of the same kind of beans, or as the magazine’s recipe says: soybeans)
25g freshly grated parmesan
Toasted or grilled bread of your choice

1. Heat oil in a saucepan over medium heat, then add onions, garlic, thyme and some salt and pepper.

2. Cook until onion softens then add carrots, celery, tomato and 125ml water, then bring to the boil. Cover and simmer over medium-low heat for 15 minutes.

3. Add the beans and rosemary sprig, cover and cook for a further 5 minutes until vegetables are tender, thens mimer uncovered for 5 minutes or until thickened. Season to taste.

4. Serve in bowls, garnish with extra thyme and grated parmesan (and rosemary flowers if you’re lucky like I was!), with a side of your toast.

Rosemary flowers

Rosemary flowers

Is anyone else a total herb addict like I am? (wow, that reads so wrong!) I’m that freak you see in the market holding up bunches of herb to her nostrils and deeply inhaling with a blissed out expression. Honestly, I regret so much that I live in an apartment because I think if I had a garden, I’d have a vegetable and herb garden and I’d save so much money not having to buy herbs from the market. It’s a bit of a romanticised view of cooking that I have, just popping out the back door into the garden and snipping off some fresh rosemary and skipping back into the kitchen.

…Yeah.

Anyway, I especially love when herbs have their flowers on them because they’re so micro-mini and gorgeous. Then I thought, why not use them as a garnish? They’re just so pretty and they’re edible so I did.

Ragu

And they tasted as pretty as they looked.

7 Comments on “All That Ragu”

  1. Kristine says:

    i had tuna sandwich for dinner. jealous.

  2. Kristine says:

    am jealous. will probably have a tuna sandwich for dinner! LOL

  3. Sze Ern says:

    Wow I love the colours!

  4. Maria says:

    This looks so colourful and pretty with the flowers!