Filler Post: From The Banner

A bit of a filler post because I haven’t been cooking food worth photographing or writing about, although yesterday I had a really great meal at Mamasita. I don’t do reviews nor photos of restaurant food on here; but that was a really enjoyable lunch.

I’ll get to actual recent photos soon but this is just an image-heavy post of larger pictures of the food in the banner.

Green tea cupcakes

Green tea cupcake

There’s this bakery in Singapore that makes the fluffiest, lightest green tea sponge cake with adzuki (red beans) in the cream centre filling and it was one of my favourite cakes I’ve ever eaten. Inspired by that, I decided to try my hand at making my own green tea cupcakes.

Green tea cupcake

It is topped with a dairy-free whipping cream (it’s the stuff they use on Japanese cakes and I much prefer it to dairy cream as it’s very light) and the inside is a surprise ball of red beans.

Red bean filling

Red bean filling

Red velvet cupcakes

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Red insides

Red red

Sanrio cupcakes

Sanrio cupcakes

This was probably my second time messing around with fondant and I decided I wanted to make Sanrio characters on my cupcakes. The Hello Kitty was a tough one because I didn’t have a cutter so it was cut with a knife! My Melody was a lot easier, though, with the clever use of some oval-ish shaped cutters.

My Melody cupcake

My Melody cupcake

Reese's peanut butter cupcake

Reese’s peanut butter cupcake

This was made because I had too many Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups laying around so I made a chocolate cupcake with a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup as the filling and a peanut butter frosting. Oh, and I think that’s a Reese’s Pieces on the top.

Peanut butter overload

Peanut butter overload

Wedding cake

“Wedding” Cake

This was my first two tiered cake and it’s soooo botchy, as you can see. It was such a painstakingly tedious task, though, and I learned a lot from it. It was also a lot of fun and I felt so proud when it was finished. Looking back now, a lot of it could be improved but it was my second fondant cake ever so I’d say it was an okay job.

Wedding cake

“Wedding” cake

Frilly cupcakes

Frilly Cupcakes

Made these for my friend Tina when she visited KL last year. I quite loved these. They were easy to make and so pretty!

Frilly cupcake

Cascading Daisies Cake

Cascading Daisies Cake

I made this for my final Wilton class and it was inspired by a four-tiered gorgeous masterpiece I saw in Martha Stewart’s Wedding Cakes. I sat for hours making 100 daisies of three varying sizes and I later glued it onto the cake intending it to look like a cascade of daisies. I think it looked more like a field of daisies, though!

Daisies

It’s still one of my favourite cakes I ever made and my friends still gush about it. I think it’s the cheery yellow colour that draws people to it.

First order

First order cake

And this was a cake that my mum’s friend ordered from me for her daughter as a sign of her support for my new hobby. I messed up the number 11 topper, though.

Butterflies

All these pictures make me miss all the baking and cake decorating I did last year. I just don’t have the time for it now but it was so much fun and I felt so creative and inspired all the time when I was doing this. I really should get back to trying to make something again.

6 Comments on “Filler Post: From The Banner”

  1. Sarah says:

    Pretty pretty! I still think your “wedding cake” looks good, even though you say it was only the 2nd fondant one you’d made. Having said that, the yellow daisy cake is even prettier!

    Hehe but the reason I’m commenting is because your green tea cupcakes had a “surprise ball” in them. HEHEHEHHEE “ball”.

    xox Sarah

  2. Yen says:

    Hey! Was wondering you had were going to or had posted the recipe for your green tea cupcakes :)
    Also, the dairy-free whipping cream – something you buy or can be made?
    Thanks!

  3. Yen says:

    Ooh thanks for the link :)
    I’m in Brisbane (and yes from Vogue Forums ^^)
    Ah ok, I guess normal cream/icing will have to suffice!

    • heysugar says:

      I just checked in my Coles yesterday and I found dairy-free cream! I bought a pack; I’m not sure if it’s exactly the same as the type I used for the cake, but I’ll let you know :)