Simplicity

I saw this simple recipe in the September issue of Delicious, a recipe by Jill Dupleix, and immediately wanted to try it. It sounded really easy and the ingredients were of things that I love like butternut pumpkin, mushrooms, spinach and with Japanese flavours. Yum!

The only problem was that the recipe wasn’t vegetarian despite the fact that the ingredients were, as it called for dashi in the broth. I decided to improvise and I think I ended up with a completely different dish with similar ingredients. Still good, though!

Simple Soba Miso Soup

Simple Soba Miso Soup

My friend Sarah suggested I miso-roast the pumpkin instead of boiling like the recipe suggested so I tried it out and turned out amazing. So thank you, Sarah, for that wonderful suggestion!

Simple Soba Miso Soup
Serves 2-3

Miso paste
Mirin (optional)
Silken firm tofu (one brick) – cut into squares
200g of assortment of mushrooms like enoki, shiitake, hiratake (oyster), bunashimeji and eringi
Note: I just bought a pack of assorted mushrooms from the vendor in the market
Spinach/baby spinach leaves
Half a butternut pumpkin
Soba noodles

1. Preheat oven to 200˚C. Peel pumpkin and dice. Lay in a roasting tin and coat with 2 Tbsp of miso paste. Mix with your hands to evenly coat the mushrooms. Drizzle with extra virgin olive oil and pop into the oven for 30 minutes.

2. While pumpkin cooks, bring 2L of water to a boil. Add in 4 Tbsp of miso paste. Add 2 Tbsp of mirin if so inclined (I skipped this).

3. Place the fresh out of the oven pumpkin and tofu into empty bowls.

4. Cook soba and mushrooms in the pot for about a minute or so. Plate up the soba and mushrooms with the broth, topping the pumpkin and tofu.

5. Place spinach in the pot until just wilted. Serve and enjoy.

Simple Soba Miso Soup

The pumpkin is hidden underneath all the mushrooms

Actually, I have a little trick about how I cooked all the ingredients. I used two sieves/colanders with a long handle (what on earth is a proper name for this tool?), placed the mushrooms and soba in one, spinach in the other, and soaked them in the hot broth. So when it was cooked, I just lifted it up and served it up. Just like how the hawkers do it back home! It saves a lot of time and effort than trying to get every last strand of soba out of the broth with a pair of chopsticks!

Confession: I actually had the entire brick of tofu by myself. I can’t help it, I’m a major tofu lover. One of my favourite dishes in Chinese restaurants is the claypot tofu dish with snap peas, carrots, cauliflower and a starchy gravy. Mmmmm!

2 Comments on “Simplicity”

  1. delicieux says:

    Mmmmm this looks fantastic!!! I have been craving Japanese food a lot recently and the miso roasted pumpkin sounds so delicious. I will have to try that.

    • heysugar says:

      Do! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did :) I was surprised at how effortless it all was too. Nothing better than a yummy and effortless dinner on a weeknight.