Niggles

I’m having a strange little day where my head is not screwed on quite straight. My sleep was really messed up and I felt horribly exhausted the whole day so I spent most of the day in some strange zombie state of dysfunctionality but my brain is on full-speed and well, it’s an off-kilter day.

Sometimes I wish I had a mute button for my brain.

One of my biggest problems is once I get an idea in my head, it’s near impossible to wrench it out unless I see it to fruition. A nice way to address that would be to call it drive or motivation; but in all honesty, it’s probably because I’ve lived a life where I’ve gotten almost everything I ever wanted. No? What kind of word is that?

Chicken & Mushroom Quesadilla

Chicken & Mushroom Quesadilla

We’ve been having Asian-only meals in our household for the past two weeks. It’s been fun if messy to photograph. I can’t explain it but I can’t make Asian meals look pretty. I try my darndest and I will probably post those photos up at some point but trust me when I say they won’t look as pretty as they tasted. Hats off to anyone who makes Asian food look pretty. Not an easy task!

It’s weird as it’s even transferred over to my dining out. I’ve been having Asian meals when I head out too. I guess there’s some cosmic force at work ensuring I stick to this Asian Fortnight we have going. Naturally I started craving non-Asian food and the thing I had the biggest craving for was quesadillas.

I don’t claim to have authority on Mexican or TexMex food in any way. I mean, I’m Chinese. I grew up in Malaysia. I’m the furthest away from Mexican cuisine as I could possibly be but it seemed easy enough. Toasted tortilla, some sort of mixture with lots of cheese, served with sour cream and jalapenos? Done and done.

Chicken, Mushroom & Corn Quesadillas
Serves 2 not-very-hungry people, or one ravenous person

100g sliced mushrooms
100g shredded chicken (confession: I was desperate enough to buy the roasted chicken from Coles)
100g corn kernels
Good melting cheese (every American recipe said Monterey Jack, which I’m not even sure we get in Australia but I had Gruyere on hand so I used that – yes, fancy quesadilla!)
2 tortillas

1. Saute the mushrooms in a pan with a little bit of olive oil, then add the shredded chicken and corn. Season to taste.

2. Remove from the pan, add to a bowl and grate cheese into the mixture. Gently stir through.

3. Put a clean frypan on the stove, place a tortilla in, top with filling, and cover with another tortilla. Cook for 2 minutes or until brown, then flip (with great skill and patience that I sorely lacked for my filling spilled boohoos!) and heat the other side for another 2 minutes.

4. Serve on a plate, cut into quarters, top with sour cream and jalapenos and dig in.

Actually, I was feeling fancy so I made a special sour cream. Also cos I can’t leave things well enough alone.

Cumin & Cilantro Sour Cream
1/4 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon ground cumin
A handful of chopped cilantro

1. Put ingredients in a bowl, stir with a spoon.

It’s nice to know that with some things that get into my head, I can execute and put an end to the craziness. Some other things… not so easy.

