Brownie Points

I’ve been craving something chocolatey for the past fortnight. Something sinful and rich and dark. I usually can do without chocolate but lately I’ve been a total chocoholic and this was a particular craving that would not be ignored.

Thankfully, a month ago I bought this book of chocolate recipes by Pierre Herme. I knew I had to make something from it to satisfy my craving because really, who else would I trust with a chocolate recipe other than Pierre Herme?

Brownies

Moist & Nutty Brownies

My mind, which seems to live in the gutter, couldn’t help but snigger at the name of these brownies but the picture of it in the book had my mouth watering so I knew I had to make them.

Moist & Nutty Brownies
Adapted from Chocolate Desserts by Pierre Herme
Keeps at room temperature for 2 days in an airtight container, or frozen for 1 month

145g bittersweet chocolate (I used 70% Lindt Excellence bars) in tiny pieces
260g unsalted butter, at room temperature
4 large eggs, at room temperature, lightly beaten
250g sugar
140g all-purpose flour
145g pecans or walnuts, lightly toasted and coarsely chopped

1. Preheat oven to 180˚C. Butter a 9 x 12-inch baking pant, fit the bottom with a piece of parchment paper, butter the paper and dust the inside of the pan with cocoa powder; tap out excess and set pan aside.
(The recipe says dust with flour but I personally hate seeing white on brownies and I think cocoa powder enhances the taste of brownies even more so no disrespect to the master, but cocoa powder is a more brilliant answer, in my opinion!)

2. Melt the chocolate in a bowl over simmering water, ensuring that the bottom of the bowl does not touch the water. Remove from heat and leave to cool slightly until it is warm to the touch or registers 45˚C on an instant-read thermometer.

3. Beat butter with paddle attachment until smooth and creamy but not airy. Stir in the chocolate.

4. Gradually add in the eggs. If the mixture separates, swap to a whisk attachment to blend the batter and continue with the whisk for the sugar, but return to the paddle attachment for the flour and nuts. However, it should not separate if you add the eggs in a thin, steady stream.

5. Add the sugar, followed by the flour and nuts, stirring only until each ingredient is incorporated.

6. Scrape the batter into the pan and smooth the top with a spatula. Bake for 19-22 minutes. The brownie is ready when the top is dry but a skewer inserted in the center will come out wet.

7. Transfer to a cooling rack and allow to cool for 30 minutes.Run a blunt knife around the edges to unmold the brownies. Remove the parchment paper and turn the brownies over to cool to room temperature right side up. Cut the brownies into 18 pieces.

Batter

To be honest, I may have overcooked the brownies a little bit because it isn’t as fudgy as I’d like it to be but it is still the best brownies I’ve ever had, let alone made! It is SO ridiculously easy to whip up as well so I highly recommend this.

A word of caution though: They are extremely, extremely addictive. I cut a weird long strip off the rectangle to test a small cube of brownie but ended up devouring the entire strip! Then I had two piece for breakfast today. I had to give some away to friends because my waistline is in danger with the presence of such irresistible brownies.

Speaking of… I think I may sneak another piece right now. Willpower? What willpower?

4 Comments on “Brownie Points”

  1. Brigadeiro says:

    Hehe, willpower? I managed to put most of the leftover desserts from my sister’s baby shower in my freezer, and had packed the chocolate chip cookies to do the same. A few days later…half the container has disappeared? Where to? My belly! :D

    These look yum! I must try making these when my mom comes to visit in December (at least then I won’t be eating all of it on my own).
    xx

    • Haha Brigs, you’re my kind of girl! ;)

      And you surely have to make them before then! Pass some to your neighbours or something, they’ll love you and I promise you’ll be able to convince your husband to love these!

  2. Johanna says:

    Whenever someone mentions ‘nutty’ I am instantly reminded of http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QRt2_OLY3Ho

    AHAHAHA. Anyway, will definitely give this recipe a go! :) Thanks Sophia!