On My Toes

In the spirit of procrastination, I thought I’d try liven this space up a little. I’ve been cooped up in my apartment with my ass perched prettily upon my black leather swivel chair, my migraines a very common occurrence and my right arm’s bicep a little torn/pulled due to an overambitious run on Monday’s Body Pump class. I look forward to being able to straighten my right arm again someday soon.

Naturally, being cooped up at home means little resources in the refrigerator and I was happily living off ham and cheese sandwiches for a few days. It really isn’t as sad as it sounds because I had Virginian Ham, topped it with Comte and let it grill in the oven for a few minutes to melt, and stuffed the sandwich full of gherkins before happily munching on it. Gherkins in sandwiches are easily my new favourite addiction. Actually, gherkins in general are pretty awesome.

In an attempt to finish up all the random bits and pieces in my freezer, I decided to make myself some fried rice.

Fried Rice

Fried Rice

I know there are many variations of fried rice out there but I make them the way my mum does, which is sauce-less to reduce the amount of moisture in the rice.

Fried Rice
Serves 2

2 cups day-old, refrigerated rice (trust me, this is essential) – I used brown rice cos that’s what I eat
2 slices bacon, diced
8 prawns, shelled
Frozen corn, a handful
5 cloves garlic, finely diced
1 egg
Soya sauce
Sugar

Ingredients

Ingredients

1. Marinate the prawns with a little bit of soya sauce and a sprinkling of sugar.

2. Crack an egg into the cold rice, and mix it around. Add a bit of pepper if you so please.

3. Heat up a tablespoon of oil in a wok over high heat, then add the garlic. Fry until lightly browned and fragrant – this will be very quick so make sure you don’t burn your garlic.

4. Add in the bacon and prawns, stir until just cooked. Add in the rice and stir until well mixed.

5. Finally, add in the corn and stir through. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

6. Serve immediately. Optional: Serve with a fried egg, especially when you break the runny yolk and mix it through the rice like a gravy. It’s mmmmm-good.

Other than that, I’ve since started my own little herb garden. I’m going to get them repotted, I think but it’s majorly fun having only to step out onto my own balcony and snip off a few sprigs of basil to add to a dish.

Herb Garden

2 Comments on “On My Toes”

  1. Natasya says:

    I have never tried this method i.e. mixing egg with rice before frying! will give it a shot.