Waffling About

I don’t always cook myself breakfast, because I never have the time to and I’m rarely ever hungry when I first wake up. I remember when I was a child and my mum would lay out a sandwich and a hot mug of Milo for my breakfast, ready for me to chow down before I dashed off to school and I’d only down my Milo and my multi-vitamins (any good Asian parent would tell you that it’s necessary to feed your child this) but never the sandwich, despite her tsking.

Over the years, my family learned that I’m not an early bird and when I do rouse early, it’s not of my own volition so I’d be grumpy and therefore, do not try to feed an angry beast. Now they kindly buy me breakfast when I’m home and leave it on the dining table for whenever I wake, instead of trying to wake me up and dealing with a stone-faced Sophia. Of course, I sometimes have to deal with my parents’ nags of how it’s unseemly for a young lady to wake so late, and how I ruin the family’s meal plans because breakfast has to be consumed during breakfast or else, how will we have the epic lunch the family wants to gorge on?!

The love for food is obviously hereditary and not an anomaly.

Mushroom and Truffle Oil Omelette with Sourdough Toast

Yesterday I whipped up a quick omelette for brunch. It was delicious and I was recently reminded of the truffle oil in my pantry. I never ever use it because I forget that it’s there. There’s probably a bottle of it in my parents’ pantry untouched as well. I will rectify that when I’m home next!

And today, I made use of my newest kitchen appliance.

Oatmeal Waffle

I got the recipe for this amazing waffles from here. I made one for Jacey and another for myself, and we smothered it with Olive Grove (it must be healthier if it’s not butter, right? Indulge us, please) and a generous drizzle of blueberry flavoured maple syrup.

The addition of the oats is brilliant as it fills us up. I can normally eat more than one waffle but just this one filled me up well and good. Burp.

Now I’m dreaming of a breakfast with mimosas, Eggs Benedict and fresh berries. Mmm.

One Comment on “Waffling About”

  1. Sammy says:

    mmm, i made waffles the other day but it doesn’t look nearly as good as this! yum!