A Pork Day’s Night

Pork Chops on Creamy Polenta

Spicy Pork Ragu Rigatoni

Winter has well and truly descended upon us and with the cooler temperature comes the usual cravings for heartier meals. I’ve been more than a little slack lately and have mostly been using up the scraps in our freezer to make meals. I discovered some pork chops that I simply marinated in Worcestershire sauce, BBQ sauce, some rosemary and salt and pepper. It was then baked then seared on a hot pan. The baking tray was deglazed with red wine and we got some killer gravy from that. The creamy polenta was made with some homemade chicken stock and lots of butter and cream cheese. I’d never been more excited to have polenta before.

The spicy pork ragu rigatoni was a recipe from Delicious magazine. I finally bit the bullet and subscribed to both Delicious and Gourmet Traveler. I’m glad I no longer have to pop by the newsagent for my monthly copies. I live right opposite one but I like to pretend that I’m so hard done by such a tedious task. I improvised the recipe, as I usually do, and I made it a lot spicier than Delicious suggested but I’m Malaysian, what do you want from me? It was 2 Tbsp of chilli flakes to the suggested 1 tsp. Pft, 1 tsp is something you can barely taste!

I’m currently down with my first winter flu of the year. I am grumpy and lethargic and I wish my immune system would buck up already. If you need me, I’ll be wallowing in self-pity in bed… where I’ve been for the past three days.

