Pasta Mania

I’ve just noticed how many different pasta dishes I have backlogged so I thought I’d just lump them all together in one post. It must be because I’ve been quite lazy these days and pasta is really quick to make and you can make it any way you want it with whatever you have in the pantry and it’s always really cheap! Win-win.

Chicken Fettucine Alfredo

I had the strangest craving for a Chicken Fettucine Alfredo for the longest time and just had to make it. It’s really strange because I don’t think I’ve ever had it (it’s such an American dish!) but somehow I had to have it. I used this recipe but left out the tomatoes and sour cream and used more milk instead. In the end, my sauce was pretty watery but on the plus side, it was way less disgusting. You know how when you have something too creamy and you can’t have too much of it cos it grosses you out after a few bites? This wasn’t a problem with more milk instead of cream. Also, my tip is don’t use the San Remo fettucine. It was all stuck together and utterly disgusting! Gah!

Oh, and a tip: add nutmeg. It’ll make it so much better.

Tuna and Chickpea Pasta

Another really easy dish and as you can tell, I ran out of just one type of pasta so I had to mix it up.

Tuna and Chickpea Pasta
Serves 3-4

1 onion, thinly sliced
1 large can of tuna (drained)
1 can of chickpeas
1 bottle of tomato passata
Lemon juice
Pasta (amount up to you), cooked until al dente

1. Heat some olive oil up in a pan, add onion and sweat the onions.

2. Add the tomato passata, tuna and chickpeas. Leave a while to simmer until the chickpeas are a little more tender. Season to taste.

3. Scoop sauce up over the pasta, then squeeze some lemon juice over the top to finish.

Bacon, Anchovies and Broccoli Pasta

This is one of my favourite spontaneous pasta dishes ever! Just have to remember to go really light on the salt when making this, though.

Bacon, Anchovies, and Broccoli Pasta
Serves 2

5 garlic cloves, diced
2 rashers of bacon, diced
1 broccoli floret, cut up and blanched in hot water for 2-3 minutes
2 anchovy fillets
Handful of Panka breadcrumbs
Pasta of choice, cooked until al dente

1. Heat oil up in a pan, then add in bacon. Cook for about 2-3 minutes, then add in the garlic and anchovies. The anchovies will melt so keep stirring so that it coats everything.

2. Add in broccoli and breadcrumbs. Quickly toss to coat everything together. Season to taste.

3. Add in pasta and mix everything together. Serve immediately.

